Sign In   |   Join Us
Maple Leaf Ball


Michael Sabia

 2019 Maple Leaf Award of Distinction

President and CEO, CDPQ

To be announced

 2018 Arts & Letters Award

Image result for michael sabia

Michael Sabia has been the President and Chief Executive Officer of CDPQ since March 2009. During this time Mr Sabia has been responsible for the strategic direction of CDPQ and the global growth of the organization.

Before joining CDPQ, he was with BCE, holding such positions as President and Chief Executive Officer, Executive Vice-President and Chief Operating Officer, and Chief Executive Officer of Bell Canada International. From 1993 to 1999, he occupied various roles with Canadian National Railway, including Chief Financial Officer. He spent the preceding decade working as a senior official in the Government of Canada.

Mr. Sabia obtained a Bachelor of Arts in economics and politics from the University of Toronto and holds graduate degrees in economics and politics from Yale University.

Mr. Sabia is a member of the Canadian government’s Advisory Council on Economic Growth. He is a trustee of the Foreign Policy Association of New York and a member of the Canada-Mexico Leadership Group and the Asia Business Leaders Advisory Council.

He is committed to community involvement, including recently co-chairing the capital campaigns of Université de Montréal, Polytechnique Montréal and HEC Montréal.

Mr. Sabia is an Officer of the Order of Canada.




Past Maple Leaf Award of Distinction Recipients


Jacques Goulet, President, Mercer Retirement Health and Benefits, Mercer

Christina Gold, former President & CEO, The Western Union Company

Kenneth Taylor, former Canadian Ambassador to Iran; former Canadian Consul General in New York

Calin Rovinescu, President & CEO, Air Canada

Mark StandishPresident & Co-CEO, RBC Capital Markets

Daniel Sullivanformer NY Consul General of Canada; former Deputy Chairman, Scotia Capital

Walter TomensonSenior Advisor, Inegro Ltd., and former Chairman, FINPRO Marsh Inc.

Past Arts and Letters Award Recipient

Margaret AtwoodNovelist & Poet

Aszure BartonChoreographer

Douglas Coupland, Author & Artist

Burton CummingsMusician

Maureen ForresterOpera Singer

Ben Heppner, Operatic Tenor

Norman JewisonFilm Director

Karen KainBallet Dancer

Yousuf KarshPortrait Photographer

Eugene LevyActor, Comedian & Writer

Gordon Lightfoot, Musician

Richard LittleImpressionist & Voice Actor

Natalie MacMasterMusician

Peter MansbridgeBroadcaster

Mike Myers, Actor & Writer

Oscar PetersonJazz Pianist & Composer

Christopher PlummerActor

Lloyd RobertsonBroadcaster

Morley SaferReporter & Correspondent

Paul ShafferMusical Director & Composer

Carol ShieldsAuthor

Alex TrebekTelevision Personality